Do you remember when?

As the Holiday season approaches, I’m beginning to think about what I’m going to put on my Christmas list. These days, it’s almost easier to just ask for cash and avoid the awkward exchange when your grandparents give you that sweater. You know, the one you’ll only wear when they’re around? 

Remember when it was easy?  Remember when your list consisted of toys that didn’t have to involve batteries or a computer?  We were children of a much simpler time.  So take a moment, sit back, and remember these toys.

  • Nintendo.  Notice that there is not a prefix or suffix to this.  Just plain, simple, bare-boned Nintendo.  These were the days of Mario, Duck Hunt and that running pad.  We always thought we were being so slick during the Long Jump, when instead of jumping up, we jumped off the pad.  Yes, we were finding ways to beat the system even then, no cheat codes needed. 
  • Starter Jackets.  Oh yes.  I don’t know about you, but these were a coveted item in my school.  For boys, it was about the team.  For girls, it was about the colors.  I owned a Phoenix Suns jacket.  The team was probably terrible, but I liked purple and orange.
  • Beanie Babies.  I still don’t understand how these became all the rage.  Nevertheless, I was (and still am) guilty of owning over a hundred.  Maybe we thought they’d be worth something someday.
  • Polly Pocket.  Talk about a toy on the go.  Who needs a Nintendo DS when you have Polly?  Now there’s a girl who’s ready to go anywhere, anytime.
  • Tamagotchi Pets. Don’t lie, you know you had one.  Imagine if these were still in.  Instead of professors asking us to put our cell phones away, they’d be asking us to put our pets away.